AU Law Scholar Program

A partnership between Anderson University and Indiana University’s Robert H. McKinney School of Law, the AU Law Scholar Program was created to give students an opportunity to follow the same educational path as AU President John S. Pistole, alumnus of both AU and IU McKinney.

After earning his juris doctorate from the McKinney School of Law, Pistole joined the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), and by 2004 was appointed deputy director. In 2010, President Obama nominated Pistole as administrator of the Transportation Security Administration (TSA), and he remains the longest-serving administrator in the TSA’s history. 

Any AU graduating senior or alumnus who is accepted to IU McKinney is eligible for the AU Law Scholar program and accompanying scholarship to IU McKinney. AU nominates one student or alumnus for admission each year, following Indiana University’s nomination procedures. At a minimum, AU Law Scholars receive a half-tuition scholarship ranging from $12,500-$23,000 per year. 


Anderson University is on a mission to educate students for lives of faith and service, offering more than 60 undergraduate majors, 30 three-year degrees, 20 NCAA Division III intercollegiate sports, alongside adult and graduate programs. The private, liberal arts institution is fully accredited and recognized among top colleges for its business, computer science, cybersecurity, dance, engineering, nursing, and teacher education programs. Anderson University was established in 1917 in Anderson, Indiana, by the Church of God.