Riethmiller Community Partnership Award

Anderson, Ind. — On April 21, Dr. Lawrence Allen and Mrs. Renee Hull-Allen were awarded the William P. Riethmiller Community Partnership Award at the Anderson University President’s Appreciation Dinner. Dr. and Mrs. Allen are advocates and champions of Anderson University, the Boze Lyric Theatre, and the music, theatre, and dance program.

Dr. Allen grew up in Bloomington, Ind. and wrote about his upbringing during World War II in his second self-published novel, “The Boy Who Lived on Allen Street.” He attended Hanover College as an undergraduate and graduated from the IU School of Medicine. Dr. Allen completed his residency at Methodist Hospital in Indianapolis and a fellowship with the Sick Children’s Hospital in Toronto, Canada.

During his long career, Dr. Allen served as president of the Madison County Medical Society, Saint John’s Medical staff, and the Indiana State Medical Association. He retired from his private practice in urology in 2001. Dr. Allen has written three self-published books: “Pearl,” a narrative about his beloved grandmother, “The Boy Who Lived on Allen Street,” and “Toadshade Jack,” which was based on his grandson’s visits with them.

Mrs. Hull-Allen is a long-time resident of Anderson and graduated from Ball State University. She has spent many years devoted to her love of theatre and the arts. She starred in multiple local theatrical productions including “To Kill a Mockingbird” with Anderson’s Mainstage Theatre. Mrs. Hull-Allen is the lead trustee of the charitable Boze Foundation, named after her uncle and aunt Fred E. and Thelma V. Boze.

Dr. Jeffrey Wright, dean of the School of Music, Theatre, and Dance and a friend of Dr. and Mrs. Allen, said, “The Allens have transformed the music, theatre and dance program for our students. They have provided us the ability to commission top-tier professionals to design and direct the musical and theatrical productions hosted by the Boze Lyric Theatre. Our students are pushed to rise to that level of professionalism, and it improves their experience, their talent, and the quality of our productions. For a school of our size, we are incredibly fortunate to have such a rich program.”

The William P. Riethmiller Partnership Award was named to honor individuals who strive to build understanding and partnerships between the university and the Anderson community—individuals who have demonstrated throughout their lives a deep commitment and vision for the community of Anderson, its citizens, and Anderson University.

Anderson University is on a mission to educate students for lives of faith and service, offering more than 60 undergraduate majors, 30 three-year degrees, 20 NCAA Division III intercollegiate sports, alongside adult and graduate programs. The private, liberal arts institution is fully accredited and recognized among top colleges for its business, computer science, cybersecurity, dance, engineering, nursing, and teacher education programs. Anderson University was established in 1917 in Anderson, Indiana, by the Church of God.

Please contact news@anderson.edu with any media requests.