Anderson, Indiana

Clements, Beechler receive 2013 Wall Street Journal award

Wed, 2013-05-08 16:00 -- univcomm
2013 Wall Street Journal Award Winners Dorothy Clements and Drew Beechler with Anderson University Falls School of Business Dean Dr. Terry Truitt
May 8, 2013

Anderson University seniors Dorothy G. Clements and Andrew M. Beechler were recently presented with the Wall Street Journal award for 2013 during the annual Falls School of Business banquet.

Clements is graduating with an accounting and finance major and a minor in mathematics. She was a member of Alpha Chi, Kappa Mu Epsilon, Delta Mu Delta, SIFE/Enactus and the Raven Input Board. She was on the Dean’s List for seven semesters. Clements was an intern at SandRidge Energy in Oklahoma City last summer and volunteered with VITA. She has accepted a position with CPA firm K.B. Parrish & Co.

[Photo: Dorothy Clements and Andrew Beechler are pictured with Dr. Terry Truitt, dean of the Falls School of Business.]

Beechler graduates this spring with a marketing major and entrepreneurship minor. He was a member of the AU Honors Program, Alpha Chi, Phi Eta Sigma, Dativus men’s service and social club, Enactus (formerly Students in Free Enterprise) and the Student Alumni Association. He was on the dean’s list for six semesters. Beechler was the executive director of the Anderson Media Group. He served as an intern with strategic design consultant KA+A, received the prestigious Orr Fellowship, and will soon be employed by ExactTarget.

The Wall Street Journal award is presented each year to an outstanding senior and is the highest honor an FSB student can receive. Both Clements and Beechler’s names will be engraved on a plaque in Hardacre Hall with past winners and also included in a full-page article in the Wall Street Journal highlighting students who have received the award across the country. In addition, each year’s winner is also presented with the Larry and Dorothy Morrison Thomas Award, which includes a cash award to the selected students. Dorothy Morrison Thomas is the daughter of Dr. John A. Morrison, who served as the president of Anderson University from 1923-1958.

Also recognized at the banquet were outstanding students in accounting (Dorothy Clements, Ashley Wilcoxson, Hannah Adkinson), finance (Kyle DeArmond), management (Heidi Delagrange), and marketing (Andrew Beechler and Nancy Furness).

Awards were also given to the following students:

  • Ashley Wilcoxson, accounting
  • Michael Tucker, entrepreneurship
  • Kyle DeArmond, finance
  • Ashley Ledford, global business
  • Heidi Delagrange, management
  • Julia Thorpe, marketing
  • Tyler Ladig, SIFE/Enactus leadership
  • Nathan Cooper, FEI

Anderson University is a private Christian university of about 2,600 undergraduate and graduate students in central Indiana. Anderson University continues to be recognized as one of America's top colleges by U.S. News and World Report, The Princeton Review, and Forbes. Established in 1917 by the Church of God, Anderson University offers more than 65 undergraduate majors and graduate programs in business, music, nursing, and theology.