Anderson, Indiana


Mon, 2012-04-30 11:30 -- batch_migrate


The Falls School of Business is a happening place. There is something new at the FSB almost every year!

The Falls School of Business had its inception in the 1942-43 school year, when Dr. Harold Linamen and Dr. Glenn Falls [pictured right with FSB Dean, Dr. Terry Truitt] joined the department and jointly provided strong leadership, excellent teaching, and stability until they retired in 1987. 

AU made a commitment to being a premier business program under the leadership of Dr. Kenneth Armstrong, who served as dean of the school from 1990 through the mid-2000s. The results of this commitment have shaped the direction and growth that continues today under the leadership of Dr. Terry Truitt. Here is a sampling of what has happened:

  • 1992  The School of Business is formed.
  • 1992  MBA program is inaugurated. (The first graduate program outside of the School of Theology at Anderson University.)
  • 1994  Anderson University becomes the first Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU) institution to earn national business accreditation with Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP).
  • 1995  MBA program also receives ACBSP accreditation.
  • 1995  The School of Business launches the MBA program in Indianapolis.
  • 1997  Corporate Partnership MBA Program starts in Indianapolis.
  • 2001  School of Business moves into new facilities in Hardacre Hall. School of Business becomes the R. Glenn Falls School of Business.
  • 2001  Doctor of Business Administration, aimed at individuals teaching business in college and university settings, is launched. 
  • 2003  Reaffirmation of ACBSP accreditation through the year 2013. 
  • 2004  Ranked in Business Reform magazine as #1 undergraduate business school. 
  • 2004  Dr. Terry Truitt becomes the new dean of the Falls School of Business
  • 2005  Ranked in Business Reform magazine as #1 undergraduate business school for the second year.
  • 2006  Flagship Enterprise Center opens, giving students direct access to business start-ups in Indiana.
  • 2007  Residential MBA program starts in the new $7 million Anderson University Flagship Center.
  • 2008  MBA Concentrations are added to the Professional MBA, allowing students to focus their education.
  • 2011 Noblesville MBA started.
  • 2011 Star Financial Bank Trading Room opens

During this time the undergraduate and graduate enrollment has increased, and the number of faculty has increased to 22, 17 of whom currently hold doctoral degrees. As of 2009, the Falls School of Business has more than 300 undergraduate students in the program, nearly 300 MBA students, and more than 70 doctoral students.