Hall of Fame adds four more with 2006 Class

Thu, 2006-10-12 11:02 -- univcomm
October 12, 2006

Former Raven athletes and coaches Donald Courtney, Vicki Graber, James Hostetler and Larry Maddox were officially inducted into the Anderson University Athletic Hall of Fame as the Class of 2006 on Saturday night at the Hall of Fame banquet at the Kardatzke Wellness Center.

Courtney, an Anderson native, earned four letters in track and three more in football from 1972-76.

On the gridiron he was named All-Conference, All-NAIA District 21, Team MVP and NAIA Div. II HM All-American after the 1975 season. He ranks 2nd on the career list for average yards per catch at 19.1. His best game was a 190-yard receiving game against Bluffton on Oct. 11, 1975. He was also a member of the 1970s All-Decade Team.

On the track, he earned four letters including team captain and MVP after the 1976 season. He was also a Hoosier-Buckeye Collegiate Conference champion in the 440 meters in 1974. He was named the Outstanding Male Senior Athlete in 1976.

Graber, a Dunedin Fla, native, earned three letters in tennis and one in track from 1979-82.

She was a two-time team MVP and finished second at the IAIAW State Championships meet three times. She had a career record of 41-8 in No. 1 singles and 31-9 in No. 1 doubles.

Hostetler earned four letters in tennis from 1970-74 and returned to coach the Ravens for 13 season from 1975-87, compiling a school record 102 win (102-37).

As a player, Hostetler was the HBCC Champion in 1971 as well as NAIA District 21 runner-up at No. 1 singles. He was a three-time All-Conference selection and twice team MVP. He was also the first Raven to play in the NAIA national meet (1971).

He ranks third on the AU coaching list with four conference Coach of the Year awards (1977, 1982, 1984-85) as well as four HBCC titles (1976-77, 1984-85). He was also a two-time District Coach of the Year.

His teams finished second in the conference four more times and runner-up in the District 21 meet seven times. He was also the District 21 Chairman for eight years and the Site Director for the NAIA National tournament for 12 years.

Maddox retired in 2005 after 30 years as the most decorated head coach in Anderson University athletics history.

His men's and women's track and men's and women's cross country teams won 53 conference championships 26 NAIA District 21 titles and 13 NCCAA championships. Individually, Maddox was named Coach of the Year in the conference 45 times, district 23 times and NCAA 13 times.