Five honored during Homecoming

Fri, 2012-07-27 09:04 -- univcomm
Anderson University honored four alumni and delivered a deserving student scholarship during the Homecoming chapel/convocation on Thursday. AU student Katy Blocher was the third recipient of the Alumni Council Scholarship. Katy is the daughter of AU graduate Michelle (Richards) Blocher ‘77 and AU alum Tim Blocher. She chose Anderson University because she wanted to attend a small Christian University that was close to home. Blocher is planning to double major in psychology and Spanish with a minor in music. Alumni during honored during the Homecoming event were Barbara Clausen (Distinguished Alumni Award), Linda Cummins (Distinguished Service Award), Darrell Miller (Distinguished Young Alumni Award) and Joyce Winner (John H. Kane Loyalty Award).

The Distinguished Alumni Award was presented to Barbara E. Clausen. After attending AU from 1946-1950 and marrying Paul F. Clausen, she worked on behalf of the Huntington’s Disease Society of America and those stricken with the disease, including her late husband and two children. She also served as vice president of the Michigan State Board and a member of the Indiana organization. Clausen was a member of the Anderson University Board of Trustees from 1981 to 1985 and served on the Alumni Council for AU and the Michigan/Indiana Alumni Board. In 1999, she established the Clausen Endowment in honor of her husband, her father-in-law and the Clausen family.

“I am completely overwhelmed, humbled and pleased that they would even consider me for such an honorable award,” said Clausen.

Linda S. Cummins was presented with the Distinguished Service Award. Cummins graduated from Taylor University with a degree in religion and Christian education and has since contributed to the growth and development of AU for more than 20 years. After serving as a youth pastor in Minn., she began to serve as an AU resident director in 1983. She now serves as associate dean of Student Services and Resident Life. In past years, Cummins has served as advisor to L’Amifidel and Camarada and has continued work with campus ministries.

“I am humbled and honored to be given this award,” said Cummins. “It is quite a joy and privilege to go to work everyday and to enjoy and have a passion for what I’m doing and who I’m working with.”

The Distinguished Young Alumni Award recognizes those who graduated in fewer than ten years ago. Darrell A. H. Miller was this year’s recipient. Miller graduated from AU in 1994 with degrees in English and secondary education. He became the first scholar from AU to receive the British Marshall Scholarship, which grants the recipient full tuition to study at a British university. Miller studied at Oxford University, where he earned a second bachelor’s degree and master’s degree in modern history and English. In June 2001, he graduated cum laude from Harvard Law School. Upon graduation, Miller began his legal career in Columbus, Ohio where he joined the law firm of Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease, a firm headquartered in Columbus with more than 300 attorneys. He is remains active at Anderson University advising students who express interest in international study and the Marshall Scholarship.

“I am delighted, honored and a little surprised with the award that was presented to me,” said Miller. “I am thrilled and I hope that I have brought honor to the university.”

The John H. Kane Loyalty Award is presented to an alumnus who has shown unusual enthusiasm, devotion and support for AU. Joyce A. Winner is this year’s recipient. Winner has served five years on the AU Alumni Council, three of those as president. During her years as president, a number of new programs were introduced that have greatly enhanced the annual Homecoming celebration. Winner has also assisted the university in planning events for alumni and friends in northeast Ohio and western Pennsylvania. Joyce and her husband, Jimmy, also an AU alumnus, own Winner Advertising in Sharon, Penn. She volunteers actively in her home community, the American Cancer Society, the National Make a Difference day and in her home church.

“I am very honored,” said Winner. “AU is my family and I am so happy to give back to the community that has given so much to me.”

Anderson University is a private, four-year, Christian liberal arts institution of approximately 2,700 undergraduate and graduate students. Established in 1917 by the Church of God, the university offers more than 60 undergraduate majors and graduate programs in business, nursing, education and theology.